Skip to main content
Back to News

Northwest Kansas Technical College Announces Department Winners for Student of the Year

GOODLAND, KS (April 10, 2024)— Northwest Kansas Technical College (NWKTC) is thrilled to announce the exceptional students who have been named department winners for the esteemed Student of the Year award. These outstanding individuals have demonstrated remarkable dedication, leadership, and academic excellence within their respective programs, embodying the spirit of NWKTC's commitment to excellence.


The department winners for Student of the Year are as follows:

Cloud and Crypto Computing: Kenli Shaw - Wallace, Kansas

Welding: Kye Towns - Idalia, Colorado

Mechanical Engineering Technology: Sydney Schears - Goodland, Kansas

Cosmetology: Karolina Siebert - Levant, Kansas

Automotive Technology: Bentley Baehler - Goodland, Kansas

Business Technology: Charles Fofanah - Terrell, Texas

Auto Body: Nathan Johnson - Ellis, Kansas

Kansas Institute of Diesel Technology: Bryson Ihrig - Goodland, Kansas

Medical Assistant: Sam Bostwick - Goodland, Kansas

Crime Scene Investigation: Tyjhanae Penny - Wichita Falls, Texas

Carpentry: Jonathan Hopson - Monument, Kansas

Respiratory Care: Rayanna Schmidt - Colby, Kansas

Precision Agriculture Technology: Colton Pfannenstiel - Hays, Kansas

Computer Graphics Technology: Adriana Valdez - Brewster, Kansas

Electrical Technology: Dane Shores - Goodland, Kansas

Engineering Technology: Elijah Mills - Saint Francis, Kansas

These exceptional students have been selected based on their exemplary academic achievements, leadership qualities, and contributions to the NWKTC community. As department winners, they will now advance to compete for the coveted title of Northwest Kansas Technical College Student of the Year.

The competition for the overall winner will involve an interview with a panel of esteemed community members and the submission of a compelling essay. The winner will be announced during the commencement exercises on May 17th, at 1:30 PM Mountain Time, held at the Max Jones Field House.

The Student of the Year will receive recognition during the commencement ceremony and have the honor of their name engraved on a plaque to be permanently displayed in the student union, celebrating their outstanding achievement for years to come.

Northwest Tech congratulates all department winners for their exceptional accomplishments and wishes them the best of luck as they compete for the prestigious title of Student of the Year.

For more information, please contact:

Jason Showalter – Vice President of Student Advancement - Northwest Kansas Technical College [785-890-1584]