Skip to main content
Back to News

Northwest Tech Announces National Technical Honor Society Inductees

Goodland, KS. (04/25/2019)  – Northwest Kansas Technical College has selected its inductees to their chapter of the National Technical Honor Society. Students must be nominated by their program instructor and maintain a 3.0 GPA. Students must also be seeking employment in their field of choice and be of good moral character and have good attendance.


The following students will be inducted to NTHS on Monday night, April 29th at 6:30 in the Union. 


Matthew Rippen – Auto Technology

Kevin Saenz – Mobile Applications and Gaming

Ussiel Gallegos – Computer Graphics Tech

Chandler Gerk – Precision Ag

Bryan Veleta – Diesel Technology

Brandon Beloti – Business Technology 

Raymond Robinson – Diesel Technology

Brandy Ballentine – Crime Scene Investigation

Lindsay Bauman – Respitory Therapy

Shamariah Harding – Precision Agriculture

Savannah Bassett – Respitory Therapy 

Pierce Fisher – Electrical Technology

Wyatt McCallum – Diesel Technology

Brett Gerbitz – Crime Scene Technology

 Kendrick Quick – Auto Technology

Heather Williams – Cosmetology 


The National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) is an honor society for outstanding career and technical students of workforce vocational education institutions in the United States. NTHS began in 1984 as the National Vocational-Technical Honor Society at H.B. Swofford Career Center, Spartanburg County, South Carolina. In 2003, the board of directors unanimously agreed to change the name of the organization from the National Vocational-Technical Honor Society to the National Technical Honor Society.


Today NTHS serves over 4,500 member schools, both secondary and post-secondary, and has a footprint in all 50 states, with chapters expanding into the Bahamas, American Samoa, Puerto Rico, and Guam. NTHS honors the achievements of leading career and technical education students, provides scholarships, and cultivates excellence in today's highly competitive, skilled workforce. Its fiscal year runs with the general school calendar, August 1 - July 31. The Jon H. Poteat Scholarship is the largest scholarship fund for NTHS. In April 2018, over $225,000 was awarded through the Jon H. Poteat Scholarship Fund, each equaling $1,000.